When Must Georgia Employers Pay Overtime Wages?
April 5, 2021
People in Atlanta are hard workers, and often put in time above and beyond the standard 40-hour workweek. For covered, non-exempt employees, this means they are entitled to overtime pay under federal law. The following is a brief overview of wage and hour laws regarding overtime pay.
When Is an Employer Required to Pay Overtime Wages?
Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), covered, non-exempt employees must receive one and one-half times their regular hourly rate of pay after putting in 40 hours of work in a workweek. It is important to note that certain employees are exempt from this requirement. Under the FLSA, there is no limit to the number of hours per day or per week an employee above age 16 can work. Similarly, the FLSA does not define what qualifies as full-time employment versus part-time employment. In addition, the FLSA does not prevent employers from changing work hours without notice or consent, absent a prior agreement between the employer and employee.
What About Weekend and Holiday Work
Many employees earn more for working on weekends or third-shift. However, this extra pay is purely at the discretion of the employer. The FLSA does not mandate an increase in pay for those working on weekends or third-shift. However, under the FLSA, covered, non-exempt employees must be paid time and one-half their regular pay wage for working over 40 hours in a workweek, no matter what time of day these work hours are performed.
Learn More About Wage and Hour Laws in Georgia
Ultimately, this post is for educational purposes only and does not contain legal advice. Those who want to learn more about wage and hour laws in Georgia are encouraged to explore our firm’s website for further information.